Walking the Line I love sheep, especially lambs. They are such carefree animals, just wandering paddocks, munching on grass. I lived on a property one that was a mixed farm- half orchards, half sheep. It was great to wander the paddocks and just sit and watch the sheep interacting. It was even better in Spring when the lambs were being born. It was an amazing sight to see mum go in to labour, give birth to a baby lamb, and watch the lamb take its first steps. During that year there was an unusually high number of twins born, so watching two lambs coming into the world was spectacular. I just wish I’d had a digital camera back then to photograph the cute lambs. The photo on the right is one I took whilst at a farm stay holiday in the middle of the drought. The farmer was trying to be a bit more self-sufficient and grow his own feed for the livestock- hence the green field in the background.

Did you know that lambs play together? I didn’t. I don’t know what I thought they did all day long but watching the lambs grow up, I noticed that they all played together and when it was feed time, mum would call them and they would run to her. It was like they were at school- frolicking around carefree with their mates, until home time when they went with mum.

I found a page on a photoblog dedicated to sheep that brought back those memories of living on the farm. I thought I’d share it- Magnificent Sheep. I like ‘A chorus line’ by Nico the best out of all of them. Reminds me of my time on the farm and how the sheep looked at me whenever I tried to take their photograph.

Have a great day
Johnah

